Game of Thrones in Order- How To Read Every Book in The Game of Thrones Series!

Game of Thrones in order

For HBO, David Benioff and D. B. Weiss created Game of Thrones, an American fantasy drama television series. It is based on George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series of fantasy novels, the first of which is A Game of Thrones. The series was filmed in the UK, Canada, Croatia, Iceland, Malta, Morocco, and Spain. It aired on HBO in the United States from April 17, 2011, to May 19, 2019, and consisted of 73 episodes spread out over eight seasons.

Game of Thrones boasts a vast ensemble cast and follows multiple plot arcs throughout the course of the program, which is set on the fictitious continents of Westeros and Essos. The Iron Throne of the Seven Kingdoms of Westeros is the subject of the first major arc, which follows a web of political struggles between noble families competing for the throne or battling for independence from whoever occupies it.

The last descendant of the realm’s overthrown royal dynasty, who has been banished to Essos and is preparing to return and regain the throne, is the subject of the second film. The Night’s Watch, a military group tasked with defending the realm against threats from beyond Westeros’ northern border, is featured in the third installment.

How to Read Every Book in The Game of Thrones Series

Game of Thrones in order

We spoke about how much we despised the ending of Game of Thrones the last time we talked about it. Thankfully, the books on which the television program is based haven’t been completed yet, but author George R. R. Martin already knows it won’t be anything like the HBO version.

Read More: Game of Thrones Star Dating Elon Musk’s Ex-Wife- Here Check out All the Latest Updates!!

However, anyone who wants to return to the land of Westeros on the small screen will be in luck. HBO announced a prequel series called House of the Dragon in 2019, which will trace the Targaryen family’s ascent to power. The program, which will star Matt Smith and others, will launch in August 2022.

Meanwhile, why not go into the source material for one of HBO’s most popular fantasy series? There are more characters, plotlines, locales, and history than can be presented in a television show. Plus, if you’ve become a Westeros expert, you’ll enjoy spotting all the easter eggs in the prequel series, which refer to small details that the books surely have pages and pages of information on. There’s a tonne of Game of Thrones information out there; all you have to do is pick up a book.

So, where should you begin? Right now, there is five (five!) core Game of Thrones books available, with two more on the way. There’s also a precursor novel, on which House of Dragon is based. Each book is a page-turner (book five, for example, is almost 1,000 pages long), so set aside time to read them all. Scroll down to see a list of all the current Game of Thrones novels, as well as the best order to read them and details on what each one covers.

Game of Thrones

The first book in the Song of Ice and Fire series was published in 1996. It recounts the tragic story of Ned Stark, the well-intentioned patriarch of House Stark who perished in King’s Landing.

Battle of Kings

Game of Thrones in order

In 1999, the second book in the series was published. The story becomes more diffused now that Ned is deceased. In King’s Landing, where Stannis Baratheon intends to attack, Tyrion Lannister is in charge. Arya Stark traverses the Riverlands, Jon Snow ventures beyond the Wall, and Daenerys Targaryen shivers in Qarth.

Swords in The Storm

A Storm of Swords, which was released in 2000, may represent the series’ pinnacle. From Daenerys’ sack of Astapor to the Red Wedding to the deaths of Joffrey Baratheon and Tywin Lannister, this book contains many legendary moments. This book had a lot of momentum coming into it, and it delivered.

A Crow’s Feast Is a Feast for Crows

A Feast for Crows, released in 2005, takes a step back and only follows the paths of a few of the characters we’ve been following up to this point.

Battle of Dragons

The most recent book in the Song of Ice and Fire series was published in 2011. This one is still a little slow (my hypothesis is that Martin’s editors had given up on the novels by this stage), but there are some amazing moments, such as Daenerys riding Drogon for the first time and Jon Snow being stabbed to death at Castle Black.

Read More: Is Sue Perkins in A Relationship? Here is Everything You Need to Know About Sue Perkins and Anna Richardson!

Winter Winds and A Springtime Dream

Game of Thrones in order

The series’ sixth and seventh books have yet to be released, much to the dismay of fans who have been waiting for almost a decade. Martin has informed readers that The Winds of Winter is in the works, and there is still hope that this book will be published.

However, given that Martin spent the entire course of Game of Thrones writing Winds, it’s difficult to say whether A Dream of Spring will ever be published. There’s also the risk that Martin will finish Winds and then realize that he needs two or more novels to end the tale, prolonging the wait.

Follow our all-encompassing Facebook page and join up for our unique newsletter to remain up to speed on things fantasy, science fiction, and WiC. With a no-risk, 7-day free trial of Amazon Channels, you can get HBO, Starz, Showtime, and more for free.

To Know More Latest Updates You Can Visit Our Website: Techstry

Related Posts


I'm a researcher and behavioural therapist with a PhD in Social Media. I also love to travel and drink coffee. Follow my adventures around the world, or just know that I really need to be back at the library.
Zooey Deschanel Appears in Harold and The Purple Crayon with Her Boyfriend Jonathan Scott Young Thug Net Worth 2022: A Real Time Update on Richer Life! Young Sheldon Season 5 Episode 19, Are Georgie and Mandy Fated to Repeat History Young Sheldon Season 5 Episode 17 Release Date: Cast, Plot, Trailer & More Updates! Young Royals Season 2 Release Date: Cast, Plot, Trailer & More Updates!