Consider Rory McIlroy, who is now ranked No. 6 in the world and is one of golf’s most well-known players, to be on Tiger Woods’ side in the continuing dispute between the No. 1 golfer in the world and columnist Brandel Chamblee.
In his season-ending grades column for Golf Magazine, the latter created headlines on October 15 by giving Woods a “F.” He linked Woods’ “a little flippant” attitude toward the rules to a story he told about getting an “F” for cheating on a math test in elementary school.
Naturally, his remarks were not well received by the public, and McIlroy is the most current person to address the issue, according to Agence France-Presse (via Steve DiMeglio of USA Today):
Yes, I agree that Brandel was totally mistaken. I don’t believe he has the right to make such a statement about Tiger Woods. Since Tiger Woods introduced Brandel Chamblee to the public, I am totally opposed to what he stated and believe he should be dealt with appropriately.
It has already been mentioned how one should be “treated in the correct way.” According to Yahoo! Sports’ Shane Bacon, a few days after the essay was published, Woods’ agent, Mark Steinberg, said it might be necessary to take legal action.
Woods just made his first public statement, telling the Associated Press through ESPN.com that “the ball truly is in the court of the Golf Channel and what they are prepared to do.”
For whatever it’s worth, Chamblee apologized last week on Twitter:
Although the harm has already been done, Woods and Rory McIlroy, among others, don’t seem prepared to absolve Chamblee of responsibility.
Check More: Brendan Schaub Controversy: In The Wake of The Brittney Griner Controversy, Brendan Schaub Slams Le Bron James
According to DiMeglio’s investigation, Woods, who finished the season with five PGA Tour titles and was named the PGA of America Player of the Year, was involved in four rules-related incidents.
Check More: Rory McIlroy Net Worth: How Rich Is This Person In 2022!
He received a two-stroke penalty for the infamous one, which occurred at the Masters.
Two more times, according to DiMeglio, his playing mates said what he did (taking relief in Abu Dhabi and taking a drop at The Players) was okay. He received a penalty at the BMW Championship because he moved his ball just a little bit in the trees.