‘The Velvet Rope’ Is Being Reissued to Celebrate Its 25th Anniversary

This week marks the 25th anniversary of the release of Janet Jackson’s sixth studio album, 1997’s “The Velvet Rope,” and to commemorate the occasion, Jackson will reissue the album.

This Friday, October 7th, marks 25 years since the release of the original record, and it will be followed by the release of the deluxe edition.

In addition to the regular tunes, it will also have a plethora of exclusive tracks that can only be heard on this release when streamed online.

Rare tracks like “Accept Me” and “God’s Stepchild,” as well as a host of B-sides and remixes, were previously only accessible on CD singles, but have now been compiled into these compilations.

Some examples are J. Dilla’s “Got ‘Til It’s Gone” remix, Teddy Riley’s “TNT” remix of the Blackstreet-assisted “I Get Lonely,” and Timbaland’s “Go Deep” remix, which features Missy Elliott. Below is the album’s entire track listing.

Jackson surprised Teyana Taylor during one of her gigs in London last month, and Taylor afterward posted a photo of the two of them together and the caption “one of the greatest surprises of my life” on Instagram.

Regardless of how close we become, know that I will always be one of ya biggest supporters! Taylor continued, “Thank you for being so sincere and such an encouragement to all of us.”

You’re the reason I’m able to give 110% while I’m onstage with you. In a sense, you are the template. “Your Majesty, I adore you.”

The 2015 release of “Unbreakable” was Jackson’s most recent studio effort. This year began with the release of Janet Jackson, a two-part documentary on Jackson’s life and career that included new music clips.

Janet Jackson’s ‘The Velvet Rope’ 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition Tracklist Is:

'The Velvet Rope' Is Being Reissued to Celebrate Its 25th Anniversary
  1. ‘Interlude: Twisted Elegance
  1. ‘Velvet Rope’ (ft. Vanessa-Mae)
  2. ‘You’
  3. ‘Got ’Til It’s Gone (ft. Q-Tip and Joni Mitchell)
  4. ‘Interlude: Speaker Phone
  5. ‘My Need’
  6. ‘Interlude: Fasten Your Seatbelts
  7. ‘Go Deep’
  8. ‘Free Xone’
  9. ‘Interlude: Memory
  10. ‘Together Again’
  11. ‘Interlude: Online
  12. ‘Empty’
  13. ‘Interlude: Full’
  14. ‘What About’
  15. ‘Every Time
  16. ‘Tonight’s the Night
  17. ‘I Get Lonely
  18. ‘Rope Burn’
  19. ‘Anything’
  20. ‘Interlude: Sad’
  21. ‘Special’
  22. ‘Can’t Be Stopped’
  23. ‘Accept Me’ (Bonus Track)
  24. ‘God’s Stepchild’ (Bonus Track)
'The Velvet Rope' Is Being Reissued to Celebrate Its 25th Anniversary
  1. I Get Lonely (TNT Remix Edit) (ft. Blackstreet)
  2. ‘Got ’Til It’s Gone (Ummah Jay Dee’s Revenge Mix)
  3. ‘Go Deep’ (Timbaland/Missy Remix) (ft. Missy “Misdemeanor” Elliott)
  4. ‘Together Again’ (Jimmy Jam Deeper Mix)
  5. ‘Every Time’ (Jam & Lewis Disco Mix)
  6. ‘I Get Lonely’ (Jam & Lewis Feel My Bass Mix)
  7. ‘Got ’Til It’s Gone (David Morales & Frankie Knuckles Def Club Mix)
  8. ‘Together Again’ (Tony Moran 12″ Club Mix)
  9. ‘Go Deep’ (Masters at Work Thunder Mix)
  10. ‘Together Again’ (Tony Humphries Club Mix Edit)
  11. ‘I Get Lonely’ (Jason vs. Janet the Club Remix)
  12. ‘Go Deep’ (Masters at Work Vocal Deep Disco Dub)
  13. ‘Got ’Til It’s Gone (Armand Van Helden Bonus Beats)